Electric Vehicle Working Group Seeks Members by July 15

EV being charged
Keith Srakocic/AP

[Stay on top of transportation news: Get TTNews in your inbox.]

Nominations of truckers, local officials, regulators, labor union members and vehicle manufacturers are being sought by July 15 to serve on a new electric vehicle federal advisory group under the Joint Office of Energy and Transportation.

The Electric Vehicle Working Group was established June 8, under provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act, to report to both Transportation Secretary Pete Buttigieg and Energy Secretary Jennifer Granholm.

A solicitation for members was published June 14 in the Federal Register by the Department of Energy’s office of energy efficiency and renewable energy.

When DOE Deputy Secretary David Turk announced the Electric Vehicle Working Group during a recent EV event at Department of Transportation headquarters, he predicted its representatives from across the country will be “making sure this is a shared [EV] journey with industry leaders, labor leaders and other critical key stakeholders.”

President Joe Biden has made EVs a national priority. The White House issued a fact sheet June 9 proclaiming its EV accomplishments, including standards to promote a national network of 500,000 EV chargers along the nation’s highways, $7.5 billion in funds for EV charging infrastructure and over $7 billion for critical supply chain minerals for EV components. Biden determined the federal government will buy 100% zero-emission light-duty vehicles by 2027, with all vehicles targeted by 2035.

The administration formed the Joint Office of Energy and Transportation through the bipartisan infrastructure law to foster DOE-DOT collaboration on the White House’s plans to change how Americans fuel vehicles by deploying a network of EV chargers and zero-emission fueling infrastructure and vehicles.

The federal government is seeking help identifying barriers and opportunities to bolster the use of EVs throughout the nation. Its guidance will be used to help the federal government develop, adopt and integrate light-, medium- and heavy-duty EVs into the U.S. transportation and energy system.

The EV working group will be tasked with making recommendations on such topics as charging infrastructure needs, cybersecurity, regulatory issues and freight transportation, including local, port and drayage, regional and longhaul trucking.

Members are to coordinate and consult with existing federal interagency working groups on fleet conversion or other similar EV issues.

Expiring in two years, the group is to meet at least every 120 days, with virtual participation allowed. Deliverables will include at least three written reports, with one to Buttigieg, Granholm, the U.S. Senate committees on Commerce, Science and Transportation, and Appropriations and the U.S. House of Representatives’ committees on Transportation and Infrastructure, and Appropriations.

EVWG-2022- by Transport Topics

No more than 25 members (including up to six federal stakeholders) will be selected from different backgrounds to represent varying views. Those chosen will be from geographically diverse regions in the United States, including rural, suburban and urban areas.

Nominations are being sought from organizations, associations, societies, councils, federations, groups, universities and companies that represent a wide variety of EV expertise.

Membership must include no less than one representative of the:

  • Trucking industry
  • Makers of light-duty EVs or components and medium- and heavy-duty vehicles or components
  • EV battery manufacturer
  • EV charging maker, owner or operator
  • Public utility industry representative, regulator or member of such an association
  • Fueling distributor
  • Energy provider
  • Automotive dealer
  • For-hire passenger transportation industry representative
  • State departments of transportation, energy or planning officials
  • Organizations representing local government, regional transportation or planning agencies
  • Intelligent transportation systems and technologies executives
  • Labor organizations for workers in transportation manufacturing, construction or operations
  • Tribal governments
  • Property development

A nominee’s resume, biography and any letters of support must be submitted by July 15 through email to EVWG@ee.doe.gov or overnight delivery to Rachael Nealer, Designated Federal Official for the Working Group, Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, U.S. Department of Energy.

Want more news? Listen to today's daily briefing below or go here for more info: