Special Coverage of the National Truck Driving Championships
August 19, 2022 10:34 AM, EDT

NTDC Finals Have a Familiar Feel

Four Former Grand Champions Advance
Alphonso Lewis celebrates advancing to 5-axle finals at 2022 NTDCAlphonso Lewis of Yellow celebrates after advancing to the finals in the 5-axle division at the National Truck Driving Championships in Indianapolis. Lewis was national grand champ in 2007. (John Sommers II for Transport Topics)

[Stay on top of transportation news: Get TTNews in your inbox.]

INDIANAPOLIS — Roland Bolduc, Jeff Langenhahn, Alphonso Lewis and Mike White are headlining the final round at the National Truck Driving Championships.

The four former national grand champions finished in the top five in their respective vehicle classes after three days of competition.

Not advancing to the final round was FedEx Freight’s Scott Woodrome of Ohio, who won national grand championships in 2018 and 2019.

NTDC 2022 logo

The 2022 National Truck Driving Championships

Photos: Awards | Competition | Road to NTDC | Contestants | Map of State Champions

Who: Winners from nine categories at the state level who have advanced to the national competition, where a Grand Champion will be crowned

What: Contestants are judged on a written exam, pre-trip inspection and driving skills

When: Aug. 16-19

Where: Indianapolis

The top five scorers from nine divisions qualified for the finals Aug. 19.

Bolduc, the 2017 grand champion with FedEx Express in Connecticut, and White, 2016’s grand champion with Walmart out of Indiana, are facing off in the sleeper berth class. Wisconsin’s Langenhahn with XPO Logistics, who won it all in 2014, is competing in the twin trailers class. Lewis, 2007’s grand champion and an America’s Road Team captain in 2011, is competing in the 5-axle class. He is based in Alabama and drives for Yellow.

The four decorated drivers and the other 41 finalists are tasked with competing on a newly designed driving course at what’s been called the “Super Bowl of Safety.” Top performers in the finals will be crowned winners in their division, and best-in-show will be this year’s national grand champion. Winners will be announced during an evening ceremony.

Sleeper berth drivers Mike White (left) and Roland Bolduc

Sleeper berth drivers Mike White (left) of Walmart and Roland Bolduc of FedEx Express

“Big names,” White said, reflecting on the competition in the sleeper berth. “You win this class, and you’ve done something.”

Langenhahn said he felt ready for the final round, while Lewis and Bolduc were displaying game faces prior to their last drive around the course. Joining White and Bolduc in the sleeper berth class is FedEx Freight’s Eric Courville, this year’s Louisiana grand champion.

Notable finalists in 3-axle include North Carolina’s grand champion Brian Walker, the reigning national champ in the division. His father, Charles Linwood Walker, won the national 3-axle championship in 1981. XPO Logistics’ Joe Hicks, this year’s top driver from Rhode Island, and New Jersey champ Wilbert Vano, also with XPO, will battle Walker for the title.

ATA President Chris Spear speaks to drivers at 2022 NTDC

American Trucking Associations President Chris Spear speaks to the drivers on the final day of competition at the National Truck Driving Championships in Indianapolis. (John Sommers II for Transport Topics)

XPO’s Ina Daly from Arizona, the only woman to advance to the finals, is competing in the tanker division. She said she’s been celebrating each moment this week.

“I’ve enjoyed the time with my company. I’ve enjoyed the time with friends that I’ve kept in contact [with] over the years,” she said. “I’m just glad that everybody stepped up and did this again.”

2022 NTDC Finalists

Step Van  
Jerome De La CruzFedEx ExpressAlaska
Ceth ChristensenUPSIllinois
Peter DreisbachUPSKentucky
Gregory LongFedEx ExpressMaryland
Marlon SandovalFedEx GroundNew Mexico
Straight Truck  
Jesse BenkertFedEx GroundKentucky
Ty PossehnFedEx FreightMichigan
Christopher ShawFedEx ExpressNew Mexico
Michael BillsFedEx ExpressNorth Carolina
Charles RandolphPitt OhioWest Virginia
Louis PetroviaXPO LogisticsMaryland
Wilbert VanoXPO LogisticsNew Jersey
Brian WalkerTForce FreightNorth Carolina
Joseph HicksXPO LogisticsRhode Island
Chris PoynorXPO LogisticsWashington
Miguel CorralUPSIllinois
Brandon HardyXPO LogisticsNevada
Martin McMahonRIST TransportNew York
David RohmanFedEx ExpressNorth Carolina
Daniel ShamrellFedEx FreightOregon
Alphonso LewisYellowAlabama
Robert BentonWalmart TransportationDelaware
David GuinnPublix Super MarketsFlorida
Timothy BanasiakUPSIllinois
Daniel BruchFedEx FreightNew Mexico
Eric RamsdellWalmart TransportationArizona
Eric FlickUPSNevada
Raymond WaageFedEx FreightNew York
Scott JohnsonOld Dominion Freight LineUtah
Kenneth RagethFedEx FreightWyoming
Tank Truck  
Ina DalyXPO LogisticsArizona
Michael FlippinFedEx FreightColorado
Dennis ShirarWalmart TransportationIndiana
Allen McNeelyABF Freight SystemNorth Carolina
Heladio FernandezFedEx FreightOregon
Leslie SmythFedEx FreightFlorida
Damien HebertXPO LogisticsLouisiana
Mark McLeanFedEx FreightNew York
Michael WhiteheadFedEx FreightSouth Dakota
Jeffrey LangenhahnXPO LogisticsWisconsin
Sleeper Berth  
Roland BolducFedEx ExpressConnecticut
Charles WhiteWalmart TransportationIndiana
Eric CourvilleFedEx FreightLouisiana
John PutneyGreater Omaha ExpressNebraska
Antoine SadlerWalmart TransportationNorth Carolina

Want more news? Listen to today's daily briefing below or go here for more info: