Twelve Chosen for Fifth LEAD ATA Class

The fifth class of LEAD ATA
John Sommers II for Transport Topics

ORLANDO, Fla. — American Trucking Associations named its fifth class to the LEAD ATA industry leadership program and announced the graduation of the fourth class during the annual ATA Management Conference & Exhibition.

“From class to class, we are able to find young men and women who are determined to do more than just enhance their professional profiles. These individuals truly want to gain a deeper understanding of how trucking can impact communities and how they can help position trucking as a safety-first industry with a strong public image,” said ATA President Chris Spear.

MCE COVERAGE: All stories | Live blog | Photo gallery

The 2018 LEAD ATA Class is:

  • Arnold Heath, ABF Freight
  • Ben Banks, TCW
  • Joey Crum, Northern Industrial Training
  • Michael Drapeau, FedEx Freight
  • William Hathaway, Noregon Systems
  • Garrett Knollman, Transmark
  • Joey Mills, UPS Freight
  • Donald Slager, Slager Trucking Company
  • Joseph Sponseller, Dean Foods Company
  • Patrick Usher, Usher Transport
  • Gabrielle Wadhams, Wadhams Enterprises
  • Dan Kling, Reddaway

Each LEAD ATA class has exclusive education opportunities available to a select group of up-and-coming trucking industry professionals. ATA provides the class information about how the regulatory and legislative process affects the trucking industry and the role ATA plays in influencing those processes. The program is sponsored by PeopleNet.

“With our fifth class of the LEAD ATA program, as with our previous classes, we set out to attract the best and brightest in trucking and provide them with the tools to direct our industry and ATA into the future,” said ATA Chairman Kevin Burch, president of Jet Express Inc. “The previous classes have been a tremendous success and I am excited to see the benefits that both the program and ATA will receive in the coming year.”


Fourth LEAD ATA class, now graduates, by John Sommers II for Transport Topics

The 2017 LEAD ATA graduates are:

  • Aaron Brown, NFI Industries
  • Daniel Horvath, TransForce
  • Wesley Davis, Big M Transportation
  • Jason Hunter, UPS
  • Jeffrey First, FedEx Freight
  • Colton Lawrence, Equinox Business Solutions
  • Nelson Gonzalez, California Multimodal
  • John Michell, Daseke
  • Johnathan Gravell, Pressure Systems International
  • Jake Rinehart, Celadon Group
  • Todd Hahn, Brown Integrated Logistics
  • Andrew Schilling, Fraley and Schilling
  • Andrew Walker, TransLand
  • Collins White, Alabama Motor Express
  • James Wright, Wright Transportation