Special Coverage



TMC Presents Awards to Industry Leaders at Annual Meeting

Kenneth Calhoun (left), receives the Peggy Fisher Study Group Leadership Award from TMC's Robert Braswell. (John Sommers II for Transport Topics)

[Stay on top of transportation news: Get TTNews in your inbox.]

ATLANTA — The Technology & Maintenance Council of American Trucking Associations recognized several industry leaders and professionals with awards for their service on Feb. 26 during the council’s 2020 annual meeting.

“We have leaders across our organization, but the technicians and executives we honor here set and raise the bar for excellence in this industry every day,” Robert Braswell, TMC’s executive director, said in a statement.

TMC presented awards to several of its members for their contributions to the council.

At TMC? Stop by Booth 2543 to say hello to us at Transport Topics.

The group’s outgoing chairman, Kenneth Calhoun of Altec Industries, received the Peggy Fisher Study Group Leadership Award for excellence in study group management.

While presenting the award, Braswell said Calhoun’s organizational skills helped the S.16 Service Provider Study Group grow from its original status as a committee. He credited Calhoun with shepherding more than a dozen recommended practices in areas such as rapid repair assessment, technician career development, conflict resolution guidelines and emissions tampering guidelines.

Joe Ard, fleet service manager at Southeastern Freight Lines, took home TMC’s Excellence in Maintenance Supervision Award.

Bo Ward of D&D Instruments received the Gerri Murphy Membership Leadership Award.

Andrew Krum of the Virginia Tech Transportation Institute received the Study Group Secretary Award.

TMC also honored three industry professionals as Recognized Associates: Mark Louzon of Volvo Trucks; Steve Woodbeck of Bremskerl North America Inc. and Wayne McKitrick of Ferrell Co.

In addition, the council recognized the second class of graduates from the TMC of Tomorrow Leadership Development Program, which aims to develop future leaders for the council and the industry.

The class of 2020 graduates include: John Walborn of Dossier Systems, Anthony Marshall of UPS, Travis Dintelman of TODCO Inc., Kevin Sternes of Silver Eagle Manufacturing Co., Amy Winfield of Suburban Seating & Safety, Gary Miller of Mack Trucks, Zack Holderfield of Volvo Trucks North America, Phil Stewart of Airdyne Industries Inc., Craig Tobin of Lite-Check Fleet Solutions Inc., Joe Christoffel of Navistar, Craig Biehl of Dorman Products Inc. and Rick Rivera of ExxonMobil.

Want more news? Listen to today's daily briefing: