October 29, 2018 2:00 PM, EDT

TAEC Leadership Award Goes to Arkansas Trucking Association President Shannon Newton

Arkansas Trucking Association President Shannon NewtonShannon Newton, president of the Arkansas Trucking Association and recipient of the TEAC Leadership Award. (John Sommers II for Transport Topics)

AUSTIN, Texas — Shannon Newton, president of the Arkansas Trucking Association, received American Trucking Associations’ President’s Trucking Association Executives Council Leadership Award on Oct. 29, during the federation’s Management Conference & Exhibition here.

“It’s been a lot of hard work the last couple of years. But it has been a joy and a pleasure,” Newton told conference attendees. “And those of you who know me know that I love to win. It’s been fun winning together and working on this issue [electronic logging devices] that’s really important to my members in Arkansas and to many of you. Thank you very, very much for this recognition.”

Newton has worked with ATA to garner support for multiple projects that have shown support for a safety-first image of the industry.

“We are honored to present this award to someone who has worked so tirelessly on behalf of our federation during her tenure leading a state that has a major trucking footprint,” ATA President Chris Spear said.

“Shannon and her team in Arkansas have shown strength and determination at the state level, but have also supported regional and national advocacy efforts and continued to fight for the betterment of our industry,” he added.

Newton, who joined the Arkansas Trucking Association in 2003, has established herself as a proponent of positive change within the industry, Spear said.

Added incoming ATA Chairman Barry Pottle: “Our industry benefits greatly from leaders like Shannon who build coalitions, generate relationships and make sure pro-safety, pro-trucking policies are enacted at the state level and supported at the national level.”

Spear, Newton and Manning

From left: Spear, Newton and outgoing American Trucking Associations Chairman Dave Manning with a $10,000 check for a grant to a nonprofit trucking education or research organization of Newton's choosing. (John Sommers II for Transport Topics)

Also president of Pottle’s Transportation, he continued: “Shannon is a great example of the wonderful relationship ATA has with our state federation and how we can use those to make a positive impact in our industry.”

Newton edited a state trucking association magazine and managed a worker’s compensation program before moving into her leadership position.

As president, she has advocated for the full implementation of the electric logging device mandate and helped shepherd the introduction of the Honest Operators Undertake Road Safety Act, known as the HOURS Act.

The Trucking Association Executives Council is made up of staff executives of state trucking associations and conferences affiliated with ATA.

TAEC serves to promote the trucking industry, contribute to the improvement of the associations and organizations established to serve the trucking industry and advance the professional stature and capabilities of the managers and executives of such associations.

The President’s TAEC Leadership Award was created in 2002 by ATA to recognize a state trucking association leader and to create an enduring legacy for that leader and for the industry. The award comes with a $10,000 grant for a nonprofit 501(c)(3) trucking education or research organization chosen by Newton.

Past winners of the TAEC award include: Shawn Yadon of California, Brenda Neville of Iowa, John Esparza of Texas, Kendra Hems of New York, Mike Riley of Connecticut, Rick Todd of South Carolina, George Burruss of Missouri, Karen Rasmussen of Arizona, Jim Runk of Pennsylvania, Tom Howells of Wisconsin, John Hausladen of Minnesota, Dale Hanington of Maine, Larry Davis of Ohio, Dale Bennett of Virginia, Cathy Gautreaux of Louisiana and Dave Huneryager of Tennessee.