March 22, 2021 12:00 PM, EDT

Mississippi DOT’s Kim Thurman Wins AASHTO Award

AASHTOMcGrath (left) presents Thurman with the award. (Mississippi DOT)

[Stay on top of transportation news: Get TTNews in your inbox.]

Kim Thurman, environmental director for the Mississippi Department of Transportation, has been recognized by the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials for 25 years of service.

MDOT announced last month that Thurman had received AASHTO’s 25-Year Award of Meritorious Service.

RELATED: More People News

“For over 25 years, Kim has worked to ensure MDOT’s projects and development serve the best interest of Mississippi’s natural environment balanced with the state’s growing transportation needs,” said MDOT Executive Director Melinda McGrath.

“It is an honor to present this national award to Kim. I am grateful for her dedication to MDOT and service to the people of Mississippi.”

Thurman began her career in MDOT’s Planning Division in 1995. She moved to the agency’s Environmental Division in 2001.

Want more news? Listen to today's daily briefing below or go here for more info: