October 7, 2014 12:02 PM, EDT

EPA Honors Fleets With SmartWay Excellence Awards

Cheryl Bynum by John Sommers II for Transport Topics
SAN DIEGO — The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency recognized several fleets for “joining arm in arm” to cut carbon pollution, a challenge that agency Administrator Gina McCarthy said has helped bring innovation to the trucking market.

McCarthy made the comments to attendees of American Trucking Associations’ Management Conference & Exhibition here Oct. 7.

“We turned the challenge of cutting pollution into saving truckloads of money,” McCarthy quipped, before EPA’s SmartWay Excellence Awards were announced.

Cheryl Bynum, EPA's National Director of the 10-year-old SmartWay Program announced the awards.

MC&E 2014: Complete coverage

Among the fleets honored were ATA members: ABF System, CR England, CRST Van Expedited Inc., D.P. Curtis Trucking Inc., Doug Andrus Distributing, FedEx Express, Frito-Lay, Gordon Trucking Inc., H-E-B Grocery Co., Knight Transportation Inc., Mesilla Valley Transportation, Prime Inc., Roehl Transport Inc., Ruan Transportation Management Systems Inc., Sunbury Transport Ltd., TransX and Werner Enterprises.

“For a decade, ATA has been a vocal supporter of the SmartWay Transport Partnership, and for a decade, our members have been working to reduce carbon emissions and save fuel using the proven techniques endorsed by SmartWay,” ATA President Bill Graves said.

In total, EPA honored 44 fleets for their work with the SmartWay Transport Partnership. (Go here for full list.)

“Gone are the days of smoke-belching rigs going down the road,” said Duane Long, chairman of Raleigh, North Carolina-based Longistics and incoming ATA chairman. “Today’s trucking industry is committed to sustainability like never before, and SmartWay is a demonstration not just of that commitment, but a model for industry-government partnerships.”