October 11, 2018 11:00 AM, EDT

CSCMP Honors Innovators at Annual Supply Chain Conference

An effort by a team of data scientists at Intel to use artificial intelligence and cognitive computing tools to identify supply chain threats earned the top award for innovation at the 2018 Council of Supply Chain Management Professionals annual conference in Nashville, Tenn. on Oct. 3.

CSCMP, which is based in Lombard, Ill., also named four people to the Supply Chain Hall of Fame: Michael Dell, founder of Dell Technologies; George Stephenson, a civil engineer considered the “father of railways”; Peter Drucker, author and management consultant; and John Gattorna, principal of a Syndey-based business advisory service.

The Supply Chain Hall of Fame was started in 2016. Inductees include the founder of J.B. Hunt Transport, Henry Ford of the Ford Motor Co. and Malcom McLean, the trucking executive who developed the modern intermodal shipping container.


The Intel team beat out four other contenders for the Supply Chain Innovation Award. A panel of judges selected five finalists for the award from about 50 submissions with the winner chosen after a live competition at the conference.

“Intel has employed its technical prowess to develop tools to aid in making sense of vast quantities of unstructured data it faces in today’s data-centric world,” CSCMP officials said in a statement describing the competition. “Supply chain decision-makers now have targeted and proactive information to support more complex data-based decisions, to identify new options and opportunities, and to alert potential supply disruptions and supply chain risks.”

The Intel team included Mani Janakiram, director of supply chain intelligence and analytics, and David Bayba, a data scientist.

CSCMP also presented the Bernard J. La Londe Best Paper Award to Craig Carter, Lutz Kaufmann and Claudia Wagner for their entry on how intuition can be helpful in making rational decisions.

Carter is a professor at Arizona State University, Kaufmann teaches at the Otto Beisheim School of Management in Germany and Wagner is a project manager at Lekkerland AG & Co., a major supplier of food and groceries in Germany.

The E. Grosvenor Plowman Award, given for the best research paper, went to Remko van Hoek of the University of Arkansas, Laura Briou of Florida Gulf Coast University and Stanley Faucett of Weber State University for their collaboration on how companies can use suppliers to fuel innovation.