October 7, 2019 11:15 AM, EDT

ATA Honors 12 Federation Executives for Service to Industry

ATA Service Award Honorees at 2019 MCEThe 12 state trucking association and conference executives represent a combined 165 years of industry experience. (John Sommers II for Transport Topics)

[Stay on top of transportation news: Get TTNews in your inbox.]

SAN DIEGO — American Trucking Associations honored 12 state trucking and conference executives for their notable service to the industry at ATA’s annual Management Conference & Exhibition on Oct. 7.

“Our association is strong because of the hard work of leaders like these,” incoming ATA Chairman Randy Guillot, president of Triple G Express Inc., said in a statement. “These men and women do remarkable work on behalf of ATA and the entire trucking industry, and it is our privilege to recognize them here at MCE.”

ATA said the 12 executives represent a combined 165 years of experience.

The executives honored included:

• Shannon Newton, president, Arkansas Trucking Association; Shawn Yadon, CEO, California Trucking Association; Lee Derrickson, executive director, Delaware Motor Transport Association; Ken Armstrong, president and CEO, Florida Trucking Association; Hal Miller, president, Mississippi Trucking Association; and Neal Kedzie, president, Wisconsin Motor Carriers Association, for five years of service

• Louis Campion, president and CEO, Maryland Motor Truck Association, for 10 years of service

Trucking is an industry that is all about service, and these men and women have demonstrated that admirably.

ATA President Chris Spear

ATA President Chris Spear

• David Huneryager, president and CEO, Tennessee Trucking Association; and Robert Sculley, executive director, Vermont Truck & Bus Association, honored for 15 years of service. Robert Sculley, president, New Hampshire Motor Transport Association; and Dale Bennett, president & CEO, Virginia Trucking Association, for 30 years of service

• Robert Farrell, executive director of the Automobile Carriers Conference, was recognized for 35 years of service

“Trucking is an industry that is all about service, and these men and women have demonstrated that admirably with their work as part of our federation,” ATA President Chris Spear said in a statement. “Our industry is increasingly at the mercy of a federal government paralyzed by inaction and state governments rushing to fill the void. So now more than ever, we rely on our state and conference executives to represent our industry, and these 12 individuals have done that to great effect.”

Want more news? Listen to today's daily briefing: