Trucking Executives Recognized for Outstanding Service

John Sommers II for Transport Topics
SAN DIEGO — Several state trucking association executives were commended by American Trucking Associations for notable service to the industry.

The seven organizations were recognized for their dedication representing the industry, especially amid federal policies deemed unfavorable.

MC&E 2014:Complete coverage

The awards were announced during the federation’s Management Conference & Exhibition here on Oct. 5.

“Without our state associations and industry conferences, it would be impossible to do what we do in Washington every day,” said ATA President Bill Graves, “so these executives — and all our federation leaders — have my thanks.”

The seven executives have more than a century of combined experience. They are:

• Bob Farrell, executive director of the Automobile Carriers Conference, with 30 years.

• Bob Sculley, president of the New Hampshire Motor Transport Association, 25 years. Additionally, he was honored for 10 years of service as executive director of the Vermont Truck and Bus Association.

• Dale Bennett, CEO of the Virginia Trucking Association, 25 years.

• Dave Huneryager, CEO of the Tennessee Trucking Association, 10 years.

• Larry Johnson, president of the Nebraska Trucking Association, 10 years.

• Curtis Whalen, executive director of the Intermodal Motor Carriers Conference, 10 years.

• Louis Campion, CEO of the Maryland Motor Truck Association, five years.

“We are blessed to have so many committed individuals working as part of our ATA federation, and we’re thankful to them for their effort and dedication,” said incoming ATA Chairman Duane Long, chairman of Longistics, based in Raleigh, North Carolina.