March 7, 2018 2:00 PM, EST

TMC Honors Four With Silver Spark Plug Award

Outgoing TMC Chairman Glen McDonald (left) with recipient Jeff Harris by John Sommers II for Transport Topics

ATLANTA — The Technology & Maintenance Council presented four professionals with the Silver Spark Plug — its highest honor that recognizes professional excellence in commercial vehicle maintenance.

The honorees are: Todd Cotier, director of maintenance, Hartt Transportation, Bangor, Maine; Randy Obermeyer, terminal manager, Batesville Logistics Inc., Batesville, Ind.; Paul Menig, CEO, Tech I-M., Sherwood, Ore.; and Jeff Harris, vice president of maintenance at USA Truck Inc., Van Buren, Ark.

Glen McDonald and Todd Cotier

McDonald, Cotier by John Sommers II for TT

“This year’s winners represent the pinnacle of our industry and we are pleased to bestow this honor on them,” said TMC Executive Director Robert Braswell.

The awards were made at TMC’s annual meeting & transportation technology exhibition.

Glen McDonald and Paul Menig

McDonald, Menig by John Sommers II for TT

“I congratulate these tremendous individuals for their efforts to keep our trucks, and America, moving,” said ATA President Chris Spear. “More than half of the 7.3 million people employed by the trucking industry do something other than drive a truck, and without them, our nation’s goods don’t get to our stores, hospitals and factories.”

Other honorees at this year’s TMC annual meeting were:

  • Eileen Wessels and Bonne Karim, retired TMC Silver Spark Plug members, who were honored with TMC’s Uncle Darrell TMC Mentor Award;
  • Travis Crow, general manager, Travel Centers of America, who was honored with the Excellence in Maintenance Supervision Award;
  • Brant Schneider, strategic account manager, Alcoa Wheel Products, who was honored as a Recognized Associate;
  • Dave Dettman, general manager, QTC Transportation Holdings, who was honored with the Peggy Fisher Study Group Leadership Award;
  • Steve Woodbeck, director of sales, Lite-Check Inc., who was honored with the Study Group Secretary Award;
  • Peggy Fisher, president of TireStamp Inc., who was honored with the TMC Gerri Murphy Membership Leadership Award.