March 27, 2020 12:15 PM, EDT

Senate Confirms Katherine Lemos to Head Chemical Safety Board

[Stay on top of transportation news: Get TTNews in your inbox.]

The Senate on March 23 confirmed Katherine Lemos to become chairwoman of the Chemical Safety and Hazard Investigation Board.

Her experience includes stints at Northrop Grumman, the Federal Aviation Administration and the National Transportation Safety Board. The Environment Public Works Committee approved her nomination in September. President Donald Trump nominated her in July.

“The chemical industry is vital to our economy and national well-being. Maintaining integrity in our chemical production, process, handling and storage is therefore essential to the health of our nation,” Lemos told the Environment and Public Works committee last year.

Katherine Lemos, new chairwoman of the Chemical Safety and Hazard Investigation Board


Sen. John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), EPW chairman, said Lemos will do an “excellent job as chair.”

“The board plays an important role of investigating industrial chemical accidents,” Barrasso said soon after her confirmation. “It was critical the Senate confirm Dr. Lemos to provide a working quorum to the board and so the agency can fulfill its mission. I look forward to considering additional talented candidates to fill the remaining open seats on the board, once they are nominated.”

Kristen Kulinowski, Chemical Safety Board board member and interim executive authority, added, “I look forward to working closely with her on the important work of the [Chemical Safety Board] during my remaining time on the board.”

Want more news? Listen to today's daily briefing: