April 25, 2018 2:00 PM, EDT

Road to Zero Group Announces Three More Safety Grant Winners

NSC's Deborah Hersman National Safety Council CEO Deborah Hersman. (Jacquelyn Martin/Associated Press)

The Road to Zero Coalition announced three more recipients of the Safe System Innovation Grants on April 23.

The Road to Zero initiative, a partnership with the National Safety Council, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, the Federal Highway Administration and the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, aims to eliminate traffic fatalities by 2050. This is the second round of the coalition’s Safe System Innovation Grants.

Safety System Innovation Grant Recipients

April 23

  • Institute of Transportation Engineers
  • National Complete Streets Coalition
  • University of Michigan

March 20

  • America Walks
  • Bicycle Colorado
  • Center for Latino Progress
  • City of Boston
  • Lorain County Public Health
  • National Opinion Research Center, University of Chicago
  • Texas A&M, in collaboration with Houston Methodist Hospital
  • University of Alabama at Birmingham, in collaboration with Safe Kids Worldwide

The latest recipients are the Institute of Transportation Engineers, the National Complete Streets Coalition and the University of Michigan.

This announcement comes less than one week after the National Safety Council released its Road to Zero report, which provides a blueprint for eliminating roadway deaths in the next 30 years.

“Preliminary estimates indicate that as many as 40,000 people were killed last year in motor vehicle crashes, underscoring the need to act urgently,” National Safety Council CEO Deborah Hersman said. “We are grateful to be able to recognize three more deserving organizations and look forward to working with them on our shared journey toward zero deaths.”

To qualify for a Safe System Innovation Grant, interested organizations must explain how their programs will improve safety on roadways, establish evaluation metrics and outline efforts to reach target audiences.

These three recipients are the latest in a series of awardees the coalition has announced during this round of the grant program.

On March 20, the Road to Zero Coalition announced eight other Safe System Innovation Grant recipients.

NHTSA committed $3 million, in the form of $1 million annually from 2017 to 2019, to fund the grant program.