Lytx Recognizes Winners in Driver, Coach Categories

[Stay on top of transportation news: Get TTNews in your inbox.]

Lytx announced the winners of its driver of the year and coach of the year awards last month.

The Lytx Driver Safety Program combines machine vision and artificial intelligence technology to identify risky driving behaviors. Since 2014, the company has recognized professional drivers and coaches who use the program and have strong safety records. The 2022 honorees were selected from a record 250 drivers and coaches who were nominated by their organizations.

“Selecting the annual winners in the driving and coaching categories is truly an honor and a privilege,” said Del Lisk, vice president of safety services at Lytx. “Drivers are the lifeblood of our communities. Drivers and coaches who use our Lytx Driver Safety Program are having a positive influence by not only demonstrating their own personal commitment to safety, but also by enhancing the safety of everyone else around them. Their commitment is worthy of admiration and recognition.”

READ MORE: Company News

Lytx said in the announcement that each driver and coach shares a commitment to safety, demonstrated by their outstanding driving behavior and a passion for sharing their safety knowledge with other drivers. The awards are broken into six categories. The 2022 Drivers of the Year Winners for each category are:

Private Trucking:

American Tire Distributors driver Cory Rosenbaum of Salt Lake City was named driver of the year for the private trucking category.

He often is assigned to delivery routes with bad weather and road conditions, but has been able to maintain a safe driving record. He has driven more than 2 million miles for the company over the past 28 years. In his spare time, he volunteers at the Humane Society and is helping to start a sanctuary for wolves. He was followed by:

  • Second Place: Jason Wagner, Reyes Holdings
  • Third Place: George Gray, Coca-Cola Consolidated

For-Hire Trucking:

Ryder System Inc. driver Robert Deroy of West Palm Beach, Fla., was named driver of the year for the for-hire trucking category. He is often called upon to haul oversize loads on lowboy flatbeds as a heavy-equipment and specialized load expert. He has a record of safety going back 22 years, and has received numerous driver-of-the-month and driver-of-the-year awards as well as a 500,000 mileage award for being collision-free. He was followed by:

  • Second Place — Bret Mady, TransWood Carriers Inc. (Kane Transport)
  • Third Place — Greg Rowlinson, American Central Transport

“We are extremely pleased to recognize and celebrate these outstanding transportation professionals for all the work they’ve done to help save lives on our roadways,” said Gary Johnson, director of safety services at Lytx. “This list of winners just scratches the surface of the number of dedicated drivers and coaches who use the Lytx Driver Safety Program to improve their driving and mentor others.”

The 2022 Coach of the Year went to Kaylin Murphy of MV Transportation. She was described as having outstanding coaching performance, rapid career growth and willingness to help others. She has worked as a safety supervisor, behind-the-wheel trainer, operations supervisor and DriveCam manager in just a year and a half.

The categories also included waste and construction, transit and motor coach, government, and services and utilities.

Want more news? Listen to today's daily briefing below or go here for more info:



Follow Us


Newsletter Signup

Subscribe to Transport Topics

Hot Topics