October 3, 2016 1:00 PM, EDT

Iowa’s Brenda Neville Earns President’s TAEC Award

Thomas, Neville, Chris Spear by John Sommers II for TT
LAS VEGAS — Brenda Neville, president of the Iowa Motor Truck Association, received the 15th annual Trucking Association Executives Council Leadership Award from American Trucking Associations at the Management Conference & Exhibition on Oct. 3.

The ATA President’s Trucking Association Executives Council Leadership Award, exclusive to state trucking association leaders, comes with a $10,000 grant for a nonprofit trucking education or research organization chosen by Neville.

"This executive led a multiyear legislative effort to get a gas tax increase in a state that needed it to address much-needed highway infrastructure needs," ATA Chairman Pat Thomas said in his presentation of the award.

“Brenda is a passionate and dedicated leader for our industry,” said incoming ATA Chairman Kevin Burch, president of Jet Express Inc. “Her work in Iowa has been an example for state association executives across the country to follow, and we are proud to see her recognized with this award.”

Aside from the gas tax, Neville has overseen the Iowa Motor Carriers Foundation, which has distributed $180,000 in scholarships to young Iowans. She participates in the Call on Washington program and has worked closely with LEAD ATA to develop future industry leaders.

“Brenda has done tremendous work on our industry’s behalf in Iowa and is a model state trucking executive,” said Tom Whitaker, chairman of the Trucking Association Executives Council and executive director of the Kansas Motor Carriers Association. “On behalf of her peers in TAEC, I congratulate her on this well-deserved honor.” 

"I was extremely humbled and honored, especially given the caliber, commitment and dedication that is demonstrated by every state trucking association executive in the federation. Every single one of them deserve this award," Neville said in an e-mail.

"I am also honored to work with, for and beside some of the best carriers and suppliers in the nation. The success of IMTA is due to the dedication of our great members and I am very blessed to have had such a rich and long career with such an outstanding group of folks. I look forward to our continued work together in being the strong and effective voice for Iowa's trucking industry."

TAEC is made up of staff executives of state trucking associations and conferences affiliated with American Trucking Associations.

“ATA’s strength lies in our federation, so we are proud to now sponsor this award,” ATA President Chris Spear said. “Brenda is a great friend and a tremendous leader for our industry. She is more than deserving of this honor and I congratulate her on behalf of all of ATA."

Neville has been with the Iowa Motor Truck Association for 26 years. The association represents more than 700 trucking companies and suppliers.

Past winners of the award are: John Esparza of Texas, Kendra Hems of New York, Mike Riley of Connecticut, Rick Todd of South Carolina, George Burruss of Missouri, Karen Rasmussen of Arizona, Jim Runk of Pennsylvania, Tom Howells of Wisconsin, John Hausladen of Minnesota, Dale Hanington of Maine, Larry Davis of Ohio, Dale Bennett of Virginia, Cathy Gautreaux of Louisiana and Dave Huneryager of Tennessee.