September 23, 2015 2:55 PM, EDT

FedEx Freight’s Eric Vos Named TMC SuperTech 2015 Grand Champion

Daniel Hanna Wins Velociti TMC FutureTech Student Competition
Eric Vos (left) congratulated by Mark McLean/Jaclyn O'Laughlin
2015 Grand Champion Eric Vos is congratulated by two-time champion Mark McLean Jr./Jaclyn O'Laughlin

Eric Vos of Boise, Idaho, and FedEx Freight has been named Grand Champion of the TMC SuperTech 2015 National Technicians Skills Competition.

The event was part of American Trucking Associations’ Technology & Maintenance Council held in Orlando, Florida.

“For 11 years, TMC SuperTech has highlighted the skills and professionalism displayed in our industry by technicians like Eric, and I congratulate him and all the competitors at this year’s event,” ATA President Bill Graves said. “Our industry needs more than 140,000 new technicians and diesel engine specialists by 2022, and this event is a great chance to shine a light on these opportunities in our industry.”

Vos also won the team competition by partnering with Drew Dilmuth of Jacksonville, Florida.

VIDEO: Day 1 competition | Day 2 competition

LIST OF FINALISTS: Names of techs who advanced to Day 2

FedEx Freight swept the top three spots as Brian Blevins of Harrison, Arkamsas, finished second, and Josh Nordick of Roseville, Minnesota, finished third.

TMC also named Daniel Hanna, a student at Forsyth Technical Community College, winner of the Velociti TMC FutureTech National Student Technicians Skills Compeititon. Jonathan Kelly of Southside Virginia Community College finished second, and Karl Kerutis of WyoTech Blairsville placed third.

2015 TMC SuperTech Station Winners

ASE Written Test: Harold Wineinger, Walmart Transportation LLC

Lighting: Jesse Elmore, USA Truck Inc.

Fasteners: Brian Blevins, FedEx Freight

RP Manual: Chris Barnett, Ryder System Inc.

Electrical Diagrams: Terry Podralski, W.W. Williams Corp.

CSA Compliance: TK Kilchenstein, Fleetpro Inc.

Electrical #1: Terry Podralski, W.W. Williams Corp.

Safety and Environmental: Rudy Laguna, H-E-B Grocery Co.

Wheel End #1: Jasen Weers, Walmart Transportation LLC

Torque: Dave Thrower, Old Dominion Freight Line Inc.

Wheel End #2: Brian Blevins, FedEx Freight

Fifth Wheel: Steve Willis, FedEx Freight

Electrical #2: Steve Willis, FedEx Freight

Tire and Wheel: Russ Whitaker, TravelCenters of America

Steering and Suspension: Bob Hatch, Hartt Transportation

Coolants and DEF: Steven Fraser, PetroCNG

Safety: Derick Hebert, Ryder Supply Chain Solutions

Preventive Maintenance Inspection: Doug Nickles, FedEx Freight

Drivetrain: Drew Dilmuth, FedEx Freight

Starting and Charging: Brian Blevins, FedEx Freight

Service Information: Stephen Radford, Ryder System Inc.

Brakes: Robert Anderson, TravelCenters of America

Vehicle Control Systems: Larry Coatney, FedEx Freight

Engine (Electronics): Darek Mowinski, Ryder System Inc.

Engine (Hardware): Kenneth Bilyea, Ryder System Inc.

Precision Measuring: Chris Barnett, Ryder System Inc.

HVAC: Jeremiah Larrabee, Stoops Freightliner

2015 TMC FutureTech Student Station Winners

Daniel Hanna by Jaclyn O'Laughlin

ASE Written Test: Jonathan Kelly, Southside Virginia Community College

Wheel End: Cody Styers, Forsyth Technical Community College

Trailer Lighting: Jonathan Kelly, Southside Virginia Community College

PMI: Blake Woodard, Oconee Fall Line Technical College

Drive Belts: Karl Kerutis, WyoTech Blairsville

Service Information: Cody Styers, Forsyth Technical Community College

RP Manual: Jonathan Kelly, Southside Virginia Community College

Coolants & DEF: Daniel Hanna, Forsyth Technical Community College

Electrical/Electronics: Jonathan Kelly, Southside Virginia Community College

Lighting Systems: Shane Hatton, Advanced Technologies

Fasteners: Jonathan Kelly, Southside Virginia Community College

Torque: Jonathan Kelly, Southside Virginia Community College

Electrical Diagrams: Karl Kerutis, WyoTech Blairsville