January 17, 2007 1:00 PM, EST

ATA Names New America’s Road Team for 2007-2008

Standout Drivers Will Serve as Trucking Ambassadors
Click here to write a Letter to the Editor.
American Trucking Associations Wednesday named the members of the 2007-2008 America’s Road Team, an elite group of drivers who have driven millions of miles safely and will serve as trucking ambassadors for the next two years.ATA named 16 ART “captains,” with a collective 366 years of experience and nearly 30.5 million safe-driving miles among them, to the team. They were selected from a group of 35 finalists who competed this week before a panel of judges from the trucking industry and trucking media.The competition included a review of their knowledge of trucking industry safety issues, a test of communication skills and interview abilities, and a review of their community service.“The captains of America's Road Team represent the very best of our professional drivers and serve as goodwill ambassadors in advancing the image of trucking,” said ATA President Bill Graves, who introduced the team at ATA’s headquarters in Alexandria, Va.“As exemplary drivers and skilled communicators, we're proud to have these drivers deliver trucking's important messages of professionalism, safety and essentiality on behalf of the entire industry to the general public,” he said.ATA created the program in 1986. It is sponsored by truck manufacturer Volvo Trucks North America. After several weeks of “team driving” with the current Road Team, the new captains will hit the road “solo,” speaking on behalf of the ATA to the news media and public, addressing trucking safety messages and highlighting the industry’s commitment to highway safety. Captains also will share safe driving tips and offer motorists advice on how to safely share the road with big rigs.The new America’s Road Team members, who will serve from January 2007 through December 2008, are: Albert Adams, Roadway Express, Berlin Center, Ohio; William Burton, Jevic Transportation, Kentland, Ind.; Wayne Crowder, FedEx Freight, Lanesville, Ind.; Dennis Day, Con-way Freight, Lawrenceville, Ga.; William Kent Durant, Roadway Express, Cheney, Kan.; Steve Eckhoff, Hogan Dedicated Services, Stover, Mo.; Steve Fields, Yellow Transportation, Independence, Mo.; Jose Franco, UPS Freight, Avondale, Ariz.; Clarence Jenkins Jr., UPS Freight, Poca, W.Va.; Dellonzo “Mack” McAdory, FedEx Ground, Rialto, Calif.; Richard Scholl, Roadway Express, Irondale, Ohio; Chris Serviss, Wal-Mart Transportation, Greensboro, Md.; Larry Shelton, Old Dominion Freight, King, N.C.; Anthony Sifford, FedEx Ground, Hillsville, Va.; Tony Spero, ABF Freight System, Stratford, Conn.; and Rick Whittle, Bulldog Hiway Express, Summerville, S.C.