October 3, 2016 3:00 PM, EDT

ATA Applauds Share the Road and America's Road Team Members

LAS VEGAS — American Trucking Associations honored America's Road Team and the Share the Road program members for their continued safe driving on the nation's highways and dedication to educating other drivers about how to do so the same.

The two programs were highlighted during an awards ceremony at the annual Management Conference & Exhibition on Oct. 3.

“Every year, millions of Americans are exposed to the message of safety and essentiality by our America’s Road Team and Share the Road professionals,” ATA President Chris Spear said. “The work of these fine individuals in telling our industry’s story is only possible through the generous support of their carriers, but also the support of our sponsors and supporters and we are grateful for both.”

"Through these efforts, they save countless lives each year," ATA Chairman Pat Thomas added.

The Share the Road highway safety program teaches drivers and students about how to safely and responsibly drive around large trucks, according to ATA. The truck, a Mack Pinnacle 70-inch high-rise sleeper, also delivers charity and relief goods.

Share the Road is sponsored by Mack Trucks Inc. and is supported by Hyundai Translead, OmniTracs, SmartDrive, Spireon, Bendix Commercial Vehicle Systems, Mack Leasing, TA/Petro and PrePass. Mack has sponsored the program for 15 years and announced that it'll remain a sponsor in 2017.

"As a result of your dedication, tens of thousands of people have learned to safely share roads with large trucks," said Jonathan Randall, senior vice president of sales at Mack Trucks.


Road Team members by John Sommers II for Transport Topics
ATA also honored America's Road Team members, called captains, for the past year. These drivers travel the nation and talk to millions of people, including students, about the importance of safety and the trucking industry.

"America's Road Team captains represent the best of our industry and give each of us a sense of pride in what we do. They are passionate about their careers and make safety their number one priority. They show what it means to be professional truck drivers," Thomas said.

Those honored at the ceremony were:

  • Henry Bruster, UPS Freight
  • Josh McKown, UPS Freight
  • Paul Savill, UPS Freight
  • Eric Flick, FedEx Freight
  • Scott Woodrome, FedEx Freight
  • Chad Miller, ABF Freight
  • Kirk Weis, ABF Freight
  • Bill West, ABF Freight
  • David Green, Werner Enterprises
  • Neil Kirk, Penske Logistics
  • Randall Luschen, Weinrich Truck Line, Inc.
  • Eric Ramsdell, Wal-Mart Transportation
  • Russell Simpson, Holland
  • Danny Smith, Big G Express, Inc.
  • Derrick Whittle, Cargo Transporters, Inc.
The America's Road Team official truck, called Interstate One, is pulled by a Volvo VNL 780 and contains a mobile classroom and a truck simulator. Volvo Trucks is the solo sponsor and is supported by Bendix Commercial Vehicle Systems, Omnitracs, TA/Petro and U.S. Legal Services.