October 16, 2018 4:30 PM, EDT

ATA Announces Finalists for 2019-20 America’s Road Team

America's Road Team

ARLINGTON, Va. — American Trucking Associations released the list of 34 professional truck drivers chosen as finalists for the 2019-20 term of America’s Road Team on Oct. 16.

The finalists hail from 22 states, haul a diverse assortment of products and materials and include shorthaul and over-the-road drivers operating in the lower 48 states. Combined, they have accumulated 90 million safe-driving miles and 946 years of experience.

Chris Spear


“ATA believes the men and women who work safely day after day to deliver our goods — truck drivers — are the best representatives of the trucking industry, and we are inspired by the finalists for the upcoming class of America’s Road Team,” President Chris Spear said. “Throughout the evaluation process, we read and heard stories from truck drivers about pride, courage and selflessness — the kinds of stories we are excited to share with the public, media and elected officials.”

America’s Road Team was created in 1986 to represent the industry and is sponsored by Volvo Trucks. Each captain dedicates a few days each month to attend events, speak at schools or meet policymakers.

“The trucking industry has millions of truck drivers who work tirelessly to safely deliver goods to our communities, so it is a major responsibility to represent that workforce as an America’s Road Team captain,” ATA Chief Operating Officer Elisabeth Barna said. “These finalists, and all the nominees, are valuable representatives for our industry, and we are looking forward to meeting them in January and welcoming a new team to join the proud legacy of being an America’s Road Team captain.”

The team will be chosen by industry officials and trucking news media representatives Jan. 27-30 in Arlington. Finalists will be judged on knowledge of trucking, dedication to safety, ability to communicate the industry’s messages and overall safe driving record.

ATA 2017 Road Team

Current ATA Road Team captains were inaugurated Jan. 11, 2017. New captains will be announced Jan. 30 on Capitol Hill. (John Sommers II/Transport Topics) 

Team captains will be announced Jan. 30 on Capitol Hill.

Captains from the 2017-18 America’s Road Team, and previous teams, continue to serve as ambassadors. To be nominated, drivers must be employed or leased to an ATA member company.



The finalists include:

  • Ronald Baird, Hoffman Transportation/G&D Trucking; Thorntown, Indiana

  • William C. Bennett III, UPS Freight; Maytown, Pennsylvania

  • Dale Brenaman, UPS Freight; Stamping Ground, Kentucky

  • Sammy Brewster, ABF Freight; Powder Springs, Georgia

  • Jorge Chavez, Jetco Delivery; Houston, Texas

  • Timothy Chelette, Big G Express; Murfreesboro, Tennessee

  • James Clark, Penske Logistics; Otter Lake, Michigan

  • April Coolidge, USA Truck; Mint Hill, North Carolina

  • Scott Davis, ABF Freight; Kearney, Missouri

  • Jesse Wayne Dennis, Prime Inc.; Springfield, Missouri

  • Ken Duncan, Walmart Transportation; Gorham, Maine

  • Douglas Frombaugh, FedEx Freight; Carlisle, Pennsylvania

  • William Goins, Old Dominion Freight Line; Cloverdale, Indiana

  • Billy Hambrick, Werner Enterprises; Yoder, Wyoming

  • Russell James, YRC Freight; Bonner, Montana

  • Ronnie Luckadoo, UPS Freight; Forest City, North Carolina

  • Gary Martin, FedEx Ground; Galt, California

  • William McNamee, Carbon Express; Christopher, Illinois

  • Dave Peterson, FedEx Ground; Blaine, Minnesota

  • Tine Peterson, FedEx Ground; Blaine, Minnesota

  • Brian Petrovcic, ABF Freight; McAlisterville, Pennsylvania

  • Robert Preston, Werner Enterprises; Winder, Georgia

  • Roger Price, TCW Inc.; Olive Branch, Mississippi

  • Jeff Rose, YRC Freight; Creston, Ohio

  • Rodney Rutledge, FedEx Freight; La Union, New Mexico

  • Richard Slack Jr., TCW Inc.; Savannah, Georgia

  • Theldorine Sova, Prime Inc.; Sacramento, California

  • James Starr, Groendyke Transportation; Wichita, Kansas

  • Clarence Taylor, Walmart Transportation; North Chesterfield, Virginia

  • Paul Wahlster, Holland; Rolling Prairie, Indiana

  • Nicolette Weaver, FedEx Freight; New Bloomfield, Pennsylvania

  • Todd Wilemon, ABF Freight; Fulton, Mississippi

  • James Gragg Wilson, FedEx Freight; Reno, Nevada

  • Ronald Vandermark, UPS Freight; Delran, New Jersey