ATA Safety Management Council Honors Top Driver, Safety Director

American Trucking Associations

American Trucking Associations’ Safety Management Council saluted its National Truck Driver of the Year and National Safety Director of the Year on Oct. 26 at its Security and Human Resources National Conference and Exhibition in Oklahoma City.

AAA Cooper driver Frank Calvert was honored in his 60th year behind the wheel of a commercial vehicle. Cooper had been named Driver of the Year at ATA’s Management Conference & Exhibition earlier in October and Alabama’s Driver of the Year in April.

Ruan Transportation Vice President of Safety Lisa Gonnerman was presented with the top safety award for reinvigorating the company’s safety culture with the creation of a safety training program called MegaSafe7 after her 2010 hiring. Gonnerman, who is nearing her 25th year in the trucking industry, is the chairwoman of the Safety Management Council’s Regulations Committee.

“Awards like these are the trucking industry’s acknowledgement of worthwhile effort applied to the area that matters most to our industry — safety,” ATA President Chris Spear said. “Safety defines our value system, so whether you’re a million-mile accident-free driver or an executive who dedicates resources to safety investments, we want you to know that you’re making a difference on the highways.”

The Tennessee Trucking Association was honored in Oklahoma City with the State Excellence Award, given annually to a state trucking association that best promotes safety to its members.

The ATA President’s Award was given to three companies that exhibited safety excellence in their daily operations: Gorski Bulk Transport for fleets under 25 million miles; TCW for fleets between 25 million miles and 100 million miles; and Old Dominion Freight Line for fleets with more than 100 million miles.

ABF Freight System Inc. was presented the Excellence in Security Award and Old Dominion Freight Line and Roehl Transport Inc. were honored with the Excellence in Claims and Loss Prevention Award in the less-than-truckload and truckload divisions, respectively.

Bulldog Highway Express, a Daseke company, took home first-place honors in ATA’s “general commodity/local haul” category (up to 25 million miles), and in the “heavy haul – unlimited” category.