Transport Topics Online
The Newspaper of Trucking and Freight Transportation
Welcome  Guest  Log In         
10/9/2012 2:30:00 PM Write a Letter to the Editor Write a letter to the Editor

ATA Salutes SmartWay Winners

LAS VEGAS — American Trucking Associations leaders Tuesday congratulated trucking industry winners of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s SmartWay Excellence Awards.

The companies picked up their awards at ATA’s Management Conference & Exhibition here, where EPA’s director of the SmartWay program, Cheryl Bynum, saluted the winners for helping to contribute to a cleaner environment.

SmartWay is a voluntary public-private collaboration between EPA and the freight transportation industry. Its goal is to help carriers, shippers and logistics companies improve fuel efficiency, cut greenhouse-gas emissions and save money.

Carriers agree to use the products and methods advocated by the program in exchange for obtaining SmartWay certification. In turn, shippers and logistics companies can view SmartWay’s carrier rankings to determine which are the most fuel efficient.

“SmartWay is a shining example of what can happen when government engages the private sector to achieve a goal,” ATA President Bill Graves said.

“Just as we should congratulate these member companies for their commitment to environmental sustainability, we should recognize EPA’s commitment to helping them become more efficient as they deliver America’s most essential goods,” he said in a statement.

The winners were:

• C.R. England Inc.

• J.B. Hunt Transport Services Inc.

• Schneider National Inc.

• White Arrow LLC

• Air Ground Express Inc.

• Celadon Trucking Services Inc.

• Dart Transit Co.

• Doug Andrus Distributing LLC

• Duncan and Son Lines Inc.

• Dupré Logistics LLC

• FedEx Ground Package System Inc.

• Frito-Lay

• Heartland Express Inc.

• JBS Carriers Inc.

• Jules Savard Inc.

• Knight Transportation Inc.

• Lake Enterprises Ltd.

2 Next >>

By Transport Topics

Follow Transport Topics on Subscribe to get up to the minute news briefs and more from our feeds. RSS Twitter Twitter Facebook Facebook

© 2012, Transport Topics Publishing Group. All rights reserved.