March 1, 2013 4:00 PM, EST
FMCSA Names Five New Members to Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration has appointed five representatives from motor carrier stakeholder groups to its Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee, FMCSA said Friday.

The new members, along with MCSAC’s current members, will begin serving on the board on April 1. In addition to the five new members, the 20-member committee has 10 who were reappointed and five whose terms have not expired.

“We welcome our new MCSAC members and look forward to their contributions that will help FMCSA raise the bar for carriers to enter the industry, maintain high safety standards to remain in the industry and remove high risk carriers and drivers from our roadways,” FMCSA Administrator Anne Ferro said in a statement.

The new members are: Donald Osterberg, senior vice president of safety at Schneider National; Robert Mills, an officer with the Fort Worth, Texas, Police Department; Bruce Hamilton, president of the Amalgamated Transit Union’s Local 1700; Gary Catapano, senior vice president of safety at First Student Inc.; and Tammy Freidrich Trakh, a board member with the group Citizens for Reliable and Safe Highways.

Stephen Owings, president of Road Safe America and a current MCSAC member, was previously elected chairman of the committee for a two-year term.

MCSAC, established in 2006, provides guidance and recommendations to FMCSA on issues of trucking and bus safety. Its next meeting will be held April 8-10 in Alexandria, Va.