Transport Topics Online  
The Newspaper of Trucking and Freight Transportation
Welcome  Guest  Log In         
5/7/2014 8:10:00 AM Write a Letter to the Editor Write a letter to the Editor

NTTC Recognizes James Starr as First Professional Driver of the Year

Dean Kaplan Elected Chairman

Groendyke Transport Inc.

National Tank Truck Carriers recognized James Starr as its inaugural professional driver of the year and elected Dean Kaplan as its new chairman.

Starr is a petroleum and chemical driver with Groendyke Transport Inc. He has been driving professionally for 42 years, including 3.5 million accident-free miles in 29 years with Groendyke. The Enid, Oklahoma-based company ranks No. 97 on the Transport Topics Top 100 list of the largest U.S. and Canadian for-hire carriers.

Starr also is a certified driving instructor and mentors trainees on safety and defensive driving.

NTTC also announced it elected Kaplan, CEO of K-Limited Carrier Ltd., as its chairman. He succeeds Jim Shaeffer, president of McKenzie Tank Lines.

“I am 100% committed to continue our emphasis on our drivers and their contributions to tank truck safety and professionalism. Our drivers are the lifeblood of our industry, and it is our job to make their work as safe and reliable as possible, and that’s why we launched our Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year recognition program,” Kaplan said in a statement.

Kaplan said his second priority is to continue to build on the strength and relevancy of NTTC’s political action committee and address regulatory and safety challenges.

By Transport Topics

Follow Transport Topics on Subscribe to get up to the minute news briefs and more from our feeds. RSS Twitter Twitter Facebook Facebook

© 2014, Transport Topics, American Trucking Associations Inc.
Reproduction, redistribution, display or rebroadcast by any means without written permission is prohibited.



Follow Us


This free daily newsletter delivers the latest headlines.

TT Executive Suite
This subscriber-only newsletter program tailors your news.



© American Trucking Associations, Inc., All Rights Reserved Privacy Statement